Social Media Syndrome

Do you do th1ee9695e0f95b276f2ade1d8ccb8489c_fullis too? I’m happily living my life doing things I enjoy, meeting with friends, attending concerts and other types of events, gathering with family for various celebratory get-togethers, when I see a friend’s post on Facebook complete with photos of smiling faces, exotic scenery, or festive happenings and I think “my life sucks”.

Alright, alright, my life truly does not suck. I have to admit, though, that for a moment, seeing all those wonderful pictures of other people on vacation, celebrating this graduation or that engagement, or simply enjoying life somewhere other than where I happen to be sitting at the moment, gives me a little stab of envy and I have to remind myself that my life is actually beautiful. 

I don’t happen to be one of those people who record every special moment for posterity, or for posting on social media. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Very often I’ll be heading home or saying our goodbyes and I think “damn, I didn’t get any pictures”. So I don’t have a lot of evidence of the things I’ve done or the places I’ve gone or the people I’ve been with…..but I have my memories and for me that is what’s important.

How often, I wonder, do other people look on their own lives as ‘less than’ because they’re comparing themselves to others? This seems to be part of the human condition and has been happening since humans started forming social groups. Today, however, it happens on a global scale. I think it’s great that our friends and social media acquaintances share their memorable moments with us. It gives us all an opportunity to share in their joy and remind us of the things that we all have in common.

Just a little mental calisthenics that I play with myself from time to time.

How about you? Does social media ever make you question the quality of your own life?

 

Leave a Reply

