Feelin’ the Bern!

better with bernieIt is not my intent to turn this blog into a political platform, but with the Iowa caucus kicking off the 2016 presidential year in just a few days, I find myself, for the first time in many, many decades, amped up about the political process. Yes, it was a glorious time in the history of our nation when Barack Obama was campaigning to become our first African American president and won! That was certainly a moment in time to be proud of. But to me at least, Obama’s campaign did not quite resonate with me. There was something lacking, something…meh. A watered down version of the same ole, same ole, or a new and improved version of the status quo. Not that he wasn’t sincere. I do believe that President Obama’s heart has always been in the right place.

As much as I would like to see a woman in the White House, I just cannot get behind Hillary Clinton with Bernie Sanders in the running. I think former Secretary of Labor under President Bill Clinton, Robert Reich, expressed my feelings exactly when he tweeted:

HRC is the most qualified to head the political system we have. Bernie is the most qualified to create the political system we should have. Robert Reich   (follow him on Twitter)

The current US political system is not working for the majority of American citizens. People have become disenchanted, disengaged, and distrustful.  For too long the middle class has been told that there isn’t enough of this and that we have to cut back on that – more taxes, less services – more intrusion, less freedom – more fear, less hope.

What we need right now is a political revolution! That word though, revolution, scares people. Things might change. I might not like the way they change. Change is scary!

I agree, change IS scary. But, in my not-so-humble opinion, the alternative is even scarier. Without some kind of change, things will not get better in this country, at least not for the 99%.

America was founded on the principle of revolutionary change. Every major leap forward for our society as a whole has resulted from revolutionary change: our independence as a nation, the abolition of slavery, the right of women to vote, marriage equality.

I will leave you with a video of former Ohio State Senator, Nina Turner, getting a Cleveland, Ohio crowd primed for Bernie Sanders last November. I agree absolutely with her call to arms, enough is enough!

Leave a Reply

