I Like Me

Who do YOU feel closest to in your life?

Most people would probably say their spouses or partners. Some might feel closest to a sibling or a friend. I’m sure that the answer to that question may change from time to time. The one constant we can always depend on is change.

What does it mean to feel ‘close’ to someone? The question could be referring to physical proximity, but that to me would just be kind of a DUH inquiry.

The question is referring to closeness as defined here:

From Merriam-Webster: the state of being in a very personal or private relationship.

From The Free Dictionary: Bound by mutual interests, loyalties, or affections; intimate: close friends.

I have been divorced now for over 12 years, so I don’t have the benefit (or misfortune as some might think) of sharing my life experiences with a significant other. I do, however, have a terrific family and many wonderful friends, and there is an intimacy and closeness that I share with each one of them.

I know this is going to sound all kinds of conceited, self-absorbed, perhaps a little enlightened to some, but if pressed to choose a person to whom I feel closest to, at this time in my life, I would have to say ME! And why not? I am with myself 24/7. I know me better than most people. And gosh darn it, I like me! Maybe not every aspect of myself, but in general.

That is not to say that I don’t enjoy going out and meeting people or getting together with friends and family, I do! But I don’t HAVE to do that in order to feel content. I enjoy being with myself (and all my little voices agree with me). I can always find something to do and if I feel like communicating, I’ll call someone, go do it alone, or I’m a writer, so I write about it.

I do have a confession to make however, while I am currently unattached to any human partner, I do share my home with two other beings. They are quite short, walk on fours legs and have fur. So I suppose I’m not the real loner that I thought I was.

Annabelle

Annabelle

Jackson

Jackson

Leave a Reply

