THE POWER TO CREATE YOUR OWN LIFE

At a New Years Eve party I greeted a friend of mine and said Happy New Year to which she responded “I sure hope so.” At that point I said “It’s going to be an amazing year!” “You have that power do you?” was my friend’s response. “Of course I do and so do you!”

Why is it that people don’t want to hear that they have power over their own lives? Why is it that people choose to give their power away to events, circumstances, other people? I suppose it’s because they don’t realize how much power they DO possess to change or improve their lives. And I have to admit that I’ve been there myself but 2012 is going to be different. The fact that I am writing this blog post is evidence of my taking back my power and shaping my life into what I want it to be. How do I plan on accomplishing that? I could say it’s very simple, kinda like you tell an alcoholic “Just don’t drink” but the truth is it IS tough. You have to commit yourself to being conscious of what is going on in your life and in your mind. Below are two of the steps I have started to take to regain my power over my life and shape it into the life I want to live:

  1. Banish all negative thoughts.
  2. Stop being afraid.

Banish All Negative Thoughts

If you’re like me you’re in your head a lot and don’t even know it. What I mean by that is that we constantly have an inner dialogue going on in our minds. The first step to gaining back your power is to start to become aware of that ongoing dialogue in your head. What are you thinking about? What kinds of conversations are you having in your mind? Are you constantly replaying negative things over and over in your mind? Becoming aware is the first step. The next step is to change the negative thoughts. Believe it or not you have control over what you are thinking. Your thoughts do not control you, you control your thoughts. For example, below is a recent string of thoughts that played out in my head and how I took back control and created positive changes in my life:

Several months ago there was the potential for a profitable business opportunity but I may have ruined due to a poorly worded email. Below is how my thoughts begin to take over my thinking. This is how I used to let my thinking derail me:

I was too quick to send out that email. I should have waited for more feedback before sending it out.

It would have been better if I just would have introduced myself instead of coming off as impersonal and bitter with that email.

I’m always jumping the gun. I never seem to have the right timing.

How could it seem so much like the right thing to do at the time and then turn out to be the exact opposite?

I just don’t trust my instincts. Nothing I do seems to work out the way I want it to.

I’m such a loser. My life stinks.

This is how I’m choosing to gain control over my thoughts and create a more positive perception of myself and my world:

I was too quick to send out that email. I should have waited for more feedback before sending it out.

It would have been better if I just would have introduced myself instead of coming off as impersonal and bitter with that email.

Perhaps it had nothing to do with my email. Perhaps they discovered the idea was flawed from the beginning and they decided to abandon it.

So what if I did screw up this opportunity with my email. There are always more opportunities out there. The universe is unlimited. What have I learned from this experience?

Perhaps this opportunity would not have been as lucrative as I anticipated.

Even if I did screw this up there is nothing to be gained by beating myself up. I choose to take the lessons learned and move on.

Stop Being Afraid

Fear is a natural instinct that protects us from things that are potentially harmful so fear is not inherently negative. But when we allow fear to paralyze us, when we make decisions based on fear or avoiding fear we limit ourselves unnecessarily. What is there ultimately to be afraid of?

Leave a Reply

